Home Forums General Discussion What to do with all these chicks!!

4 replies, 2 voices Last updated by Anonymous 4 years, 5 months ago
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Anonymous
      Inactive
      @

This is my first year really breeding birds with a purpose.
      I am focusing on my project birds, but breeding a few others as well.

caveat: these are English Orpingtons not game birds.

My question is: what the hell do you do with all these chicks!!

I have a table top incubator, one I use as incubator and other as Hatcher. Incubator for 2 week, then Hatcher for 1 week, then re-load the incubator. Repeat.

I am doing single mating. So we are talking about 20 chicks every 2 weeks.

I have a barn stall with 3 pens, each group gets rotated to a different pen every 2 weeks, then on their fourth rotation they head outside.

I have a large area with poultry netting and several coops for chicks to choose from. I have them separated with a small fence and separate area of my big coop for them to go in, so when their 2 weeks is up, they will go in the main coop. It was worked well so far. But only 2 groups, 8 – 10 birds each with early hatches.

I realize it is variable. But for a single mating in step 1 of founders program, with Adam and Eve, how many chicks do you hatch. I know ‘as many as you can’ but I’m looking for numbers. Are we talking 20 or 120?

Much thanks!

Kenny Troiano
      Keymaster
      @maximustroy2

lol,

I will give the number I always give – “As many as you can manage and afford.”

The more chicks you start with, the better. This will allow you to cull hard and still have a good number of birds to continue the line.

The larger number of chicks you have, the better will be your selection. Having the ability to produce, recognize and select the standouts is the best way to improve a strain.

Not sure it was the answer you are looking for, but hope it helps.

Anonymous
      Inactive
      @

Haha! I’m gonna push a little. I don’t give up easy!